Q&A with ABC Meteorologist Amy Freeze

Amy Freeze is a meteorologist at WABC TV in New York City. You can see Amy Freeze in the morning on Saturdays and Sundays as well as different feature reports throughout the week. Amy Freeze has earned many awards for her broadcasting and meteorology.

Amy Freeze
Amy Freeze is a 5 time Emmy winning meteorologist for Channel 7 Eyewitness News. Photo Credit: Amy Freeze

1) Can you give a little background story for those that don’t know you?

Amy Freeze: My name is Amy Freeze. I’m a meteorologist at Wabc television in New York City

2) What college did you graduate from and what was your major and minor?

AF: I went to Weber State University in Ogden for general studies, then I transferred to Brigham young University for a minor in religion and a major in broadcast communications. I continued to take classes and got a degree from Mississippi State University; a BS in meteorology. While I was living and working in Philadelphia Pennsylvania I got a master degree in environmental science.

3) What inspired you to go into the journalism/meteorology field?

AF: My last name is Freeze… It was destiny!

4) Did you always know that you wanted to go into the journalism/meteorology field?

AF: First I wanted to be a writer then I took a broadcasting class and was lucky enough to get a job in a newsroom right out of college… The desire to be on TV came later.

5) Where did you start and how did you get to where you are at ABC?

AF: My first job was at a radio station in college. Then I worked in Portland Oregon as a writer and producer and eventually got my first on-air position there as a entertainment reporter. Before I left Portland I made the transition to weather.  I went on to work for ABC in Denver Colorado; I worked in Philadelphia Pennsylvania for Nbc and then for fox in Chicago and finally ABC here in NYC.

6) Was it hard to break into the journalism field?

AF: Yes it is a tough business with long hours and there are shifts on the weekends and holidays that must be worked. Also lots of competition from very qualified people.

7) What is your job and how would you describe your duties?

AF: My job is to report about science and do features during the week. I also do the weather Saturday and Sunday morning – I make the forecast predictions and create all the graphics.

8) What is your typical day like?

AF: My typical days getting my kids to school then going to work – – we have editorial meetings right at the beginning of the day. I do produce material for the website and help with weather forecasting. But often I am sent out to do a story which requires interviewing people and preparing the story for the afternoon newscasts.

9) Are there any accomplishments that you are most proud of? Why?

AF: I am a 5-time Emmy winner!

10) What do you enjoy about being a newscaster/meteorologist?

AF: It is different every day. The weather can be nice one minute and be producing dangerous storms the next — it’s never dull. Plus I work at the #1 station in the world. It’s fun to win!!

11) How do you think the future of the journalism field looks?

AF: The future of journalism is changing by the minute – – with social media so widely used stories are breaking faster and news spreads very quickly in very small doses. With the pressure to be first with stories – – details are not always given and sources are not always identified or checked.  Technology does spread information a lot more quickly but the ethical requirements of true journalism must still be met which means you need to offer the source, verify information, and always tell both sides. The future of journalism will likely be driven by social media technology which means that people who are not trained in journalism, in other words bloggers and social media guru’s, will be the ones to drive information because they understand that technology best. That puts the responsibility of true journalism to also understand what is happening with technology so you can balance the spread of information in the most efficient way possible. The audience of journalism in the future will be in social media technology – – so journalists must understand that arena and adjust accordingly.

12) What trends do you see today becoming prevalent in the future?

AF: Social media. Being able to enterprise your own story, set up the interviews, execute the video and then edit the story – – but also be able to share the content via social media… Literally a one-man band!

13) How do you use social media to connect with your audience and followers?

AF: I use social media on a regular basis to interact sharing stories, forecast and answering questions. I have accounts on Facebook Twitter Instagram Snapchat and LinkedIn

14) Do you think social media is beneficial to the journalism field? Why or Why not?

AF: Yes I think it is beneficial because it helps you connect to the audience in a direct way. You can answer questions and they can share story topics with you

15) From your experience, do you see a difference in technology in the field of journalism and meteorology?

AF: Both are definitely storytelling. But in journalism you usually are doing interviews and incorporating the story of others. In either you’re doing the data and numbers of the straight story out of that

16) How can someone gain experience in journalism while still in school?

AF: Yes. Start a blog… Your instantly a journalist by creating a story online that you can share with others the more you do it on news topics and interviewing others the better you will get

17) What was the best advice you ever got, whether it be when you were entering your career or personal advice? Who gave you that advice?

AF: My dad said some people might be more talented but you’ll always succeed if you work harder than everyone else.

Never give up. Donald Trump told me that when I interviewed him in 2008

18) What are three pieces of advice that you could give a journalism student like me who is trying to break into the journalism field?

AF: Go to law school. Then you can figure out how to be on the TV station.

Don’t delay having a family just to have a career. Sacrificing personal life will never pay off in the professional world. But having a personal life can enrich your professional experiences

Don’t take a job outside of your ability – – especially if they’re offering low pay meaning don’t be the cheap labor!! Salaries are the way that workplaces value people – – get paid!

Published by

hannahf24

I am a writing obsessed, coffee lover and part time bridal stylist. Covid really shook everyone to the core so now I am doing what I know and what I love; writing!

Leave a comment